Posted by: tommybrennan | March 17, 2011

Here Comes The Sun!

I am joyful.  Ebullient.  Filled with hope and good expectations.  It is Spring in the North Country!  I saw my first Robin on Tuesday, and I saw a Red Winged Blackbird today.  This is too wonderful.  The coming of Spring is an amazing reminder of the cycle of life that our world is.  Trials operate the same way.   They start (Fall), Peak into a storm (Winter), Begin to resolve (Spring), End, and give way to a time of rest (Summer).
I have a memory of Spring that I want to relate.  My family was driving to Florida when I was about 9 years old, and it was 1970.  We were driving from cold, still wintry Michigan to Fort Lauderdale.  We were somewhere in Tennessee when Here Comes the Sun by the Beatles came on the radio.   I had never heard the song, but I remember loving the imagery of the song, even as a kid.  There was an incredible freshness of the new Spring season as we headed south, and everything seemed good, right, and possible.  And here was the fact:  It’s been a long cold lonely winter, it seems like years since it’s been clear.   But Here Comes the Sun.  And it’s Alright!  We were heading to Florida, where we would see Cape Kennedy and the Saturn V that would be taking the next Apollo mission to the Moon.   Everything seemed wonderful, possible, safe, beautiful and kissed by the Lord Himself.
I have never forgotten the way I felt that morning as we drove, and I have a sneaking suspicion that it is the way that Heaven will feel.
In the meantime, please forgive me for offering this version of  Here Comes the Sun by George Benson for the second time this week.   I simply want to share this incredible sense of love, New Life, New Day, and Hope with you all.  If you get even 10% of what I am feeling today, you will be blessed.
Its’ Alright.

Responses

  1. I get it, Dad, and I love it!!! Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

