Posted by: tommybrennan | March 16, 2011

As a Man Thinketh

If you believe that you can’t do something, you most likely won’t do it.  If you believe that you can do something, then you probably will.  There are certain forces that come into play when you begin to think along a certain line.  Have you ever noticed that when you are worried about something you become distracted?  Your performance drops.  Your heart may quicken.  You may eat more.  You may become depressed and obsess on something.  This is all happening by what is going on inside your mind.  You are choosing these physical responses by what you are thinking about.  If you think about sex there are physiological changes.  You don’t need me to describe these.  But again, there is a physical reaction to what is going on in the mind.

Many of us have been trained to view thoughts as immaterial, intangible, and somehow ineffective.  As if we can think about anything we want, but we can still carry on a pretty normal life and everything will be alright.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  What you are thinking about today will determine the day that you have, how you respond or react to issues, and your readiness to take on challenges or opportunities.  If you are all bunched up in your thought life, these opportunities and challenges will have a distinctly different outcome than if you are functioning in an effective manner in your thought life.

So, lift up your eyes.  Focus on what good you can do.  You have one string to play on today, and that is your attitude.  And your attitude will be formed by your thoughts.

A bit of advice.  Start by being thankful.  I was in a terrible state of depression recently, and I decided to start to give thanks.  I didn’t know where to start as I was somewhat overwhelmed.  I started by thanking God for my left thumb, and all that it can do.  I marvelled at all that I could name.  Then I moved on to my fingers, my hand, my arms, my legs, my heart, and as you can tell, the depression broke.

Be thankful.  People are always more pleasant to be around when they are not grumbling or whining.

Responses

  1. My hope and prayer is that I will remember this daily until I am overcome with thanksgiving by being in His Presence! Thank you for penning this!

  2. Thank you for posting these inspirational messages, Tom. They have been helpful to me. (Some of us don’t do Facebook, so people don’t know we’re out there!)

  3. Fantastic post Tom. Two thumbs up!!

  4. Reblogged this on Whatsoever Things Are True and commented:

    This is for somebody today.


Leave a Reply

Categories

