Posted by: tommybrennan | January 24, 2011

When Things Go Wrong…..

In your life, you will find yourself in times that you did not expect.  You may find yourself in a situation that knocks the wind out of you mentally, physically, spiritually or socially.   It may appear to you that there is no way out, or at least no good way out.    You may be blaming yourself for things you should have done differently, things you should have known, or things you should have said or not said.   These times are not typical.   They are crises.   We may only face them once or a few times in our lives.    Some people seem to have more of these than others, and the question of fairness may arise.

I want to encourage you today, that your best days are yet ahead.   No matter how impossible this may seem, it is the unvarnished truth.    You cannot allow yourself to give in to the discouragement around you.   People are depending on you, and there is still much good in you.    I want you to see that there are thousands of people who have experienced the loss of a loved one,  a divorce,  the loss of a job,  the failure of a business,  the discovery of an affair, or the loss of a friendship in the past few months.    These are not uncommon experiences, but how we handle them is where we need to focus our attention.    You can’t change the past, but you can change the way you look at it.

I encourage you to look at those who have experienced terrible losses and have started their lives from scratch in their 40s, 50s, 60s, 70’s or 80’s.     Accept what has happened, and set your face to move on.   God is not finished with you!   I know people who have suffered horrendous, messy divorces, and have found God’s healing through His Word, His People, and His Spirit.  I have known people who have suffered the loss of a loved one, and found grace to live their lives as a tribute to the loved and lost, and have done a great deal of good, even though they themselves have suffered greatly.    Remember those that have survived concentration camps or prison, and have gone on to live lives of tremendous good toward those that they touched.

Don’t Give Up!    Lift up your eyes to God, who still loves you, and He has a purpose for you.  I am not making this up.   The Bible is filled with promises to the Lonely, the Prodigal Sons, the Wayward, the Sinner, and the Loser.  He is the God of the Second Chance.    His name means “God Saves”.

Jesus What a Friend for Sinners, Jesus Lover of my soul.  Friends may fail me, foes assail me, He my Savior makes me whole!

Hallelujah, what a Savior!   Hallelujah, what a Friend!  Saving, Helping, Keeping, Loving.   He is with me.  ‘Till the end.

Being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ;  (Philippians 1:6)

Responses

  1. This brought me to tears.

    “Know Your ways, know Your plans are higher. Know Your thoughts towards me are peace…”

    I love you so much, Dad. I CANNOT wait to see what the next 50 years of your life look like.

  2. Thank you Elisabeth for posting this to Facebook. Thak you sir for these words. I needed them so badly today. I have lived through a divorce that rocked my world, the death of my son at 14, the loss of my job of 8 years, being diagnosed with bipolar disorder and a suicidal depression, I’ve been separated from my second husband for almost two years and I’m facing another divorce, my daughter and I are living with my parents and nothing seems to be changing or moving.

    I am losing hope and trying to hang on. I know God loves me. I know His plans for me are good. These things I know in my head but my heart is starting to fail and my faith is faltering.

    But your words, through the Holy Spirit, have given me a measure of strength and hope if only for this moment, this day, to keep forging ahead and not quit. No matter what is thrown at me, I WILL NOT QUIT!

    Blessings and hugs and more,
    robYn

    • Robyn, God does have a plan! Father, Help Robyn to hope in You this day, and show her what to do. Open doors for her, in Jesus’ Name. Amen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

