Posted by: tommybrennan | October 27, 2010

In Defense of Classical Music

Classical Music has fallen on tough times. It has been labelled as uncool, irrelevant, and boring. This seems to be a knee jerk reaction on the part of young people. They have not been introduced to Classical Music as a beautiful expression of brilliant and creative minds.

When I was 17, I had friends that were intellectual and artsy. We would listen to everything from Punk to Led Zeppelin to Muddy Waters. We would also listen to classical. I can remember going to a friend’s house and listening to the 1812 Overture. We would close our eyes and just let the music paint pictures for us. It was incredible, and it still is. I went with some friends to see Fantasia on the big screen at the Americana Theater in Southfield Michigan when I was 18. Again, I was blown away by the sheer scope, layers, and movement of Bach, Vivaldi, and Strauss.

For those that are Classical Agnostics, try listening to the soundtrack of your favorite movie. You will be surprised at how moving the orchestrations are. These are great examples of classical-type music, and it is some of the most beautiful stuff being written today. Then punch up Johann Sebastian Bach on Pandora or Grooveshark. Listen with headphones. You will be amazed at the complexity that Bach wrote without the aid of recording equipment.

Bonus: Classical Music has been clinically proven to boost IQ levels. I don’t know about you, but I need all the help I can get. Go ahead, give it a try.

Responses

  1. Classical music is still noted as being of the most potent stimuli for inspiring (in spirit) creativity. Many artists, myself included, choose classical as the “drug of choice” for the creative process. Many of my visual works have been birthed “under the influence.”

    p.s. It should be noted that I seldom select classical music when I want to actively listen to music. I too can get bored with it quickly in such cases (I blame my A.D.D.). For those times give me B.B. King, Allison Krauss or James Taylor! “C”

  2. LOVE the picture of Bugs Bunny as Leopold –
    really well-written defense, based in sound reasoning and anecdotal proof of the benefits of classical music. Solid, pops.


Leave a Reply

Categories

