Posted by: tommybrennan | October 25, 2010

Numbering Your Days. Literally…….

I am 49 right now. I had a close call with death back in Spring of 2008. I was touched by the grace of God, and He has granted me a healthy heart, and a second chance to live a longer life. I was pondering the fact that I nearly died at the age of 46. My beloved mother died at the very young age of 54. My dad was 74. So I got to thinking: How long do I have left?

Well, the life expectancy in the USA is around 74 for men. So that means I have about 25 years left to live, if I live an average lifespan. I could die earlier, or I could die later, but that is the average. 25 years is 9,125 days. This means that every year I live is another 4% of my life spent. Every season, Fall, Winter, Spring, Summer, is 1% of my life. Every month is 1/3 of 1%. Every day is 1/100 of 1%.

So what does this mean? It means that I don’t have long at all to live. None of us does. Until I had a close brush with death, I never thought about it. I now carry a constant awareness that I am very mortal. I don’t dwell on it, but I really try to not let stupid stuff upset me. I don’t want this 1/100 of 1% of the rest of my life to be spent foolishly.

So, far from being a depressing post, this is a motivational post. Don’t let another day slip by that you are just punching the clock, or going through the motions. Do the right thing, and take a chance on obeying God that you were always hesitating to take. Don’t waste another day.

They are all numbered. Starting……..NOW!

Leave a Reply

Categories

