Posted by: tommybrennan | February 19, 2008

A Little Fellow’s Dad

2152018.jpg

I actually posted this as a comment on Christopher Hopper’s blog, but since some of you may not see it, I thought it would be some good food for thought for those of us that are fathers of little men.

When I first became a father, and brought my firstborn son John home from the hospital, the thought that hit me was “what do I do now?”  I still ask that question daily. Each child is a very unique critter, and one size doesn’t fit all.

I read this poem sometime during my 16 year tenure as a Royal Ranger leader. I share it with you in hopes that it will bless you all as it blessed me.

I may never be as clever as my neighbor down the street.
I may never be as wealthy as some other men I meet;
I may never have the glory some other men have had;
But I’ve got to be successful as a little fellow’s dad.

There are certain dreams I cherish that I like to see come true,
There are things I would accomplish ere my working time is through,
But the task my heart is set upon is to guide a little lad.
And make myself successful as the little fellow’s dad.

It’s that one job I dream of, it’s task I think of most,
If I’d fail that growing youngster; I’d nothing else to boast.
For though wealth and fame I’d gather all my future would be sad,
If I failed to be successful as that little fellow’s dad.

I may never get earth’s glory, I may never gather earth’s gold.
Men may count me as a failure, When my business life is told.
But if he who follows after is a Christian, I’ll be glad–
For I’ll know I’ve been successful as a little fellow’s dad.

Author Unknown.

The same is true of our little girls, but I have no poem for that. See my blog – upon a daughter leaving for college for some thoughts about that.

Big Daddy Tom

Leave a Reply

Categories

